Tales of broken down planes and brown snakes in outback Queensland part 2.

December 22, 2008

Brown snake - Kilcowera Station - Outback Australia

Brown snake - Kilcowera Station - Outback Australia

 
 
 
 
 

I have ridden my motor bike back from the hanger and put it in the shed, halfway between the house and the chookyard which is about 100 metres from the house.  I decide to feed the chooks.  Get to the chookhouse and am peering in the dim interior checking for snakes before I go in.  And there is one in there.  Snakes like chook houses, they’re musty, have grain in them and mice, so I am always careful before entering.  I watched this snake for a little while, he was just cruising about quietly; I don’t think it even knew I was there, before deciding to run back to the  house to grab my snake gun. 

 

I get back with the gun only to see the four foot long brown snake sliding under the 44 gallon drum that holds the chook food.  Hhhmmmm…… watched for about 5 minutes to see if it was going to come back out.  No.  There would be mouse holes under the drum and it looks like snakey has gone down one.  The water to the chook yard comes via black poly pipe which is on top of the ground, so it can be quite hot in the middle of the day.  I get the hose and am  sneaking in to the chook house just going past the nesting boxes when out of the corner of my eye I see a fast movement on my right and something has bitten me on the elbow.  Well I jump backwards still clutching the hose and gun while a very agitated chook is squarking and carrying on cause I had disturbed her on the nest.  I tell you my heart just about jumped out of my throat.  When I had regained my composure I carried on with the hose trick but it seemed the water was not hot and the snake did not bolt out from under the drum.  He is still there somewhere.

 

Snakes are a constant worry to us and we spend a lot of the time looking at the ground as we walk around.  Day and night.  It is quite a novelty to go somewhere where you don’t have to keep such a surveillance up. Our house is also at ground level so we are very fussy about keeping doors shut.  If the birds start up a commotion out in my garden it’s a sure sign that there is either a snake, lizard or a raptor about.  Last spring there was a big kerfuffle in the garden by the resident birds as a Channel Billed cuckoo had arrived. He was way out of his normal range and definitely not welcomed by the locals.

 

Two years ago we saw a fairly big brown snake climb the outside brick wall of our house and disappear into a little hole in between the bricks where the grouting had fallen out.  This created a fair amount of alarm; I mean here is this snake in between the bricks and the inside gyprock of our internal walls!  There were a few obvious places where the snake could make it into our house so we taped any little holes up, gave it a few days and plugged up the hole where it went in hoping that snakey had departed.  But I know that there is a snake somewhere in the ceiling, sometimes, I can here happenings up there when it is chasing mice around. I just hope that the bloody thing doesn’t fall down through the air conditioning ducting one day!

 

 

 

 
 
One Response to “Tales of broken down planes and brown snakes in outback Queensland part 2.”

  1. zenonie said

    There is plenty of work availabl in the west. Grab a newspaper (Queenslan Country Life) and have a look at the employment section. Be prepared to work hard and get your hands dirty. Cheers zenoni

Leave a Reply

