December 24, 2010 at Kilcowera Station

December 26, 2010

Emu chicks with dad at Kilcowera Station, Outback Australia.
Emu chicks with dad at Kilcowera Station, Outback Australia.

Well here we are, the day after my B’day and the day before Chrissy and it has been a wonderful year that has gone far too fast!!  Why do they go faster the older I get?  Can someone please tell me?  I remember when a year seemed an interminable time (at school in particular) and when I was 10 or 11, I couldn’t believe that I would ever get to the lofty heights of teenagedom.  Well that was a while ago!! 

I took myself off for a little fly on my birthday as I always do, just to remind myself that flying is fun and fantastic and a privilege and something that I am good at.  It was a beautiful day and an enjoyable little job checking out some of the new cows, making sure they were not hanging in corners of their new paddocks.
We went into town (Thargomindah) after that for supplies, had to get the flood truck over the Bulloo River.  There has been a lot of water under and over that bridge this year. 

We have had just over 20 inches here at Kilcowera this year, Thargomindah has had about 32 I think, what a difference a hundred kilometers can make.  There were dribs and drabs of rainfall through November but nothing major and nothing all this month despite having some promising changes go right past us.  The weather man is up to his old tricks again promising rain that doesn’t happen. Half of Queensland and New South Wales is awash, but it’s fine here! 

A few of weeks ago we were supposed to get a couple of inches of rain so we thought we would grade the air strips to get some of the vegetation off them.  Greg just finished the job, the strips looked great and we got an almighty wind storm go straight past the house and roar down the airstrips taking half the dirt with it …………and not a drop of rain.  So now they are half corrugated and bumpy and with a lot less dirt on them. 

We have been very spoilt throughout the year with the rain, I have not had to water lawns, gardens and trees nearly as much as usual, but crunch time is here.  The trees outside my garden need a drink, the sheepyard trees and chook yard trees are thirsty and the lawn at the quarters is parched.  

Most of the surface water on both Kilcowera and Zenonie has evaporated so the water run needs to be done every second day again.  

So far we have had 3 fatalities (that we know of) with the new cows.  And we have also discovered that these Brahman cross cattle are queer mothers.  They will abandon their calves as quick as a brown snake if we disturb them.  Not at all like the Hereford cows we have always had, they were excellent mothers. 

Angela, our youngest, spent Christmas with her boyfriend and his family at their farm near Laidley and our oldest, Katherine is steadfastly staying in the west for the foreseeable future. Here’s our little Christmas tree……….

Christmas Tree at Kilcowera.

2 Responses to “December 24, 2010 at Kilcowera Station”

  1. Ingrid Russell said

    We hope you had a nice Christmas. I thought you might have had more rain. You have had twice your average rain fall for the year. I hope you do not get a scorching summer.

  2. Tania said

    What a really interesting blog! Found you as I wanted to know where people in the outback got rid of their rubbish and did a search and up you came!
    I’m in Surrey, UK and it’s fascinating to read about how other people live. Would love to visit one day!

Leave a Reply

